Eligibility for the Merkin Prize extends to all living investigators who have developed important, novel technologies that have demonstrably improved human health in a clinical setting. Technologies may have been created through work in academia, the commercial sector, or government. Submissions from nominators in any discipline will be considered.

Each nomination may include up to four individuals and/or teams as candidate recipients.

In some cases, it may be desirable to use one or more of the nomination slots to propose a team of investigators whose collaborative work was key in the development of a technology. Teams in any industry are eligible to receive the Merkin Prize, and the team will allocate its cash award equally among its members if selected for a prize. For more information on nominating a team, click here.

Diverse perspectives and experiences help drive transformational biomedical research. To that end, we particularly encourage nominations from historically underrepresented communities.

Current Broad Institute employees and Institute Members are ineligible to receive the Prize. Self-nominations are not permitted. Nominators may submit no more than two nominations per cycle. .

Winners will be chosen by a blue ribbon panel of scientific leaders, chaired by Harold Varmus, the Lewis Thomas University Professor at Weill Cornell Medicine and recipient of the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for his work on the origins of cancer.

Nominations must be submitted by January 30, 2023 11:59 PM ET.

Submit a nomination today